"Blue Sud" Art Johnson & Marc Devine


"Blue Sud" Art Johnson & Marc Devine


Released January 2013

Art Johnson on guitar and Marc Devine on piano

Recorded at “fourth floor studios” in Nice, France during February 2012, Art Johnson on guitar had only met Marc Devine on piano during a performance on stage at the Cannes Jazz Festival as part of a rhythm section backing a vocalist.


Together there was a certain magic between them that blended both Chordal instruments in agreement. This is the third album that Art has recorded for ITI Records and all have been piano and guitar duet formats. And though it takes a special quality on both players’ contributions to pull it off and produce a cohesive result, the fact is clear it became “simpatico”, on the same wave length for these two master musicians.

New York based Marc Devine swings from top to bottom as his style shifts with the mood of each selection, tempo and intensity. His playing was so strong that Art took the role of a horn player and laid out completely on Marc’s solos.

There are three solo tracks on the album, with Marc on two pieces and Art on one. It’s their interconnection interpretations of standards as well a few originals set forth on this CD.

Both of these artists are well known in their genre and have performed with jazz greats Red Holloway, Butch Mile, Jessie Davis, Neal Miner, Benny Powell, Clark Terry, Paul Horn, John Klemmer, Tim Weisberg, Papa John Creach, MarkO'Connor and Willie Bobo.



1. Don't Get Around Much Anymore 4:34

2. Alone Together 4:52

3. My One and Only Love 7:12

4. Somebody Loves Me 3:20

5. Sea Blues 4:09

6. Bue Sud 4:36

7. Time After Time 3:45

8. Ghost of a Chance 2:36

9. Black Orpheus 6:05

10. All The Things You Are 3:54

11. Beutiful Love 3:25


Add To Cart